Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I wish to begin this by saying thanks to CrazyDave for providing me a year long membership with the Texas Motorcycle Roadriders Association. Part of the membership is an active role in the organization. The following is what I want to bring to the leadership to see what can be done about it.

As a Paramedic, I've seen many accidents over the past 14 years. I've come to realize that those concrete barriers that serve as median dividers or guards on fly-overs and bridges don't seem to be tall enough to prevent a motorcyclist from being launched over. Every time I ride next to one, I can see myself in that situation. Those barriers were designed to stop a car. They'll stop your bike just as effectively, but you're going over it if you hit it in the right (wrong) way. That's what bugs me. I don't want to be launched into opposing traffic and possibly be hit or launched off a bridge to the ground below. Sadly, there was an incident in Austin a few years ago. A rider was on his way to the ROT rally and was ejected off the bridge to his death 40 feet below. Three motorcyclists killed during ROT Rally in Austin

Usually, laws are passed for safety. Take for example those median barriers. They were put in place to stop cross-over head on collisions. I'm just curious how many more of us have to be seriously injured, or die in order for the government to do something about it? Or in this case, how many voices will it take for them to listen to us?

Is there a flip side to this? Of course there is, as in all things.

One could argue that perhaps you would've survived a launch into the opposing traffic. Or, what if you got launched into a river (body of water)? Would you rather hit a concrete wall, or some other barrier device?