Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8,119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have learned a great deal about bikes on this forum from some well educated and experienced riders. Now I am hoping someone can once again educate me. I have no experience with bike tires so please be patient with my questions. :)

My wife and I travel and live in a 40 ft motorcoach. It was a HUGE investment for us so I am very anal about maintenance on the Diesel engine as well as the coach itself. One item that I am really observant about are the tires. Blowing one on a 35,000 lb - $ 1/4 million dollar rig will ruin your day for you. So I am adamant about tire safety. I use a computerized tire pressure monitoring system and always make sure I am where I need to be on pressures.

After 5 years owners such as myself typically throw the tires out and bolt on new ones ( 6 of these can cost 2,000 K ) , regardless of their condition. The reason being is that most tire blow outs occur with age, especially after 6 years. They just seem to be susceptible to zipper blow outs after 6 years. One blown tire ( depending on its position ) can dent your wallet for several thousand dollars if it takes out electrical systems, parts of the body, plumbing and other misc. parts located under the coach. So tire safety on a coach is critical.

My question now is this. After reading today about the couple who had a tire blow out on their cruiser on a freeway and both being killed because of it, is there a practice you bikers use with your own bike tires ?

* When do you throw yours out ? Do you go by age or appearance ?

* Do you go over your tire pressures before you ride ?

* When is a bike tire no longer safe ?

BTW, I cannot speak for bike tires but for our coach tires, these things will blow most of the time due to age or running down the road under inflated for your weight.

What causes a tire to blow out on a bike ?

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks gang.

Chris

·
Registered