Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hope this is the right place for this.

Hello all!!! Absolute noob here.

I got a 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 for $800. Only 3848 miles on it but it sat for three years. Took it to the shop and got the carburetor rebuilt, new gaskets, etc. $1,300. So, everything is like new. Rode it for about an hour in the neighborhood and did well with it. I did not break 20 mph though. I am riding my own ride.

Later that day I over filled the tank with gas (there is a longer story to this but still my mistake). Me and the wife rode after filling no problems. The next day the wife and I are going to ride again. She rode first and noticed it backfired twice. She gets done and now the bike has ridden for 6 miles since overfilling. I start it and then the problems start. It acts like it ran out of gas or will not start. Looking on the internet I find that this is normal for overfilling the tank. I am also led to believe the small puddle of gas under it this morning is normal.

I read a post of someone who has done this and while driving home the bike would stall and he would have to pull the choke to start it, ride a mile, stall repeat. Eventually though the problem did correct itself. My plan is just to start it and idle until it stalls. Repeat this until the problem corrects itself. If I can finagle the key out of the gas cap while the gas cap is off, I am led to believe that would help. Would this work?

Failing this my perusing of the internet has suggested pulling out the breather tube and letting it sit for awhile to dry out. Replace the tube and start the bike. Is this correct? If so, is there a place on the internet that shows how to do this? I cannot find one.