Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very new to motorcycles and am having a friend help me with cleaning out the carb. He said we need the upper and lower boots of the carb because they were old and cracking. Anyone know what the upper ones are called? I think I found the lower ones on ebay. Also, what years other than 86 would work?

·
Registered
143 Posts
microfische lookups

There are many motorcycle parts web sites that offer microfische displays of all the parts on a bike. Here is one of the many I use. Assuming by the word "boot" you mean the rubber pieces that connect the carburetor from the air cleaner to the cylinder head?

Motorsports Honda Yamaha Suzuki Kawasaki Motorcycle Dealer ATV Greenville NC Used Sport Bikes Eastern North Carolina Hustler mower, Honda Power equi
Upper boot from the air cleaner display page:
Item#15 "TUBE B" PN: 17257-MK7-000
Unfortunately this particualr parts site shows that item is a discontinued item.

Motorsports Honda Yamaha Suzuki Kawasaki Motorcycle Dealer ATV Greenville NC Used Sport Bikes Eastern North Carolina Hustler mower, Honda Power equi
Lower Front Boot from front cylinder head display page:
Item#13 "INSULATOR, CARB" PN: 16211-ME9-000

It is the same for the Lower Rear Boot:
Lower Rear Boot from rear cylinder head display page:
Item#12 "INSULATOR, CARB" PN: 16211-ME9-000

I see there is also a thread on this web site that discusses options for the boot that is discontinued.

·
Registered
2,210 Posts
i bet since the upper ones only handle air and no gas you could use radiator hose, but the bottoms since it has gas and air i would get the actual boots

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you both for your help. I'll look into those links and the possibility of radiator hose.

·
Registered
5,377 Posts
Thank you both for your help. I'll look into those links and the possibility of radiator hose.