Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to get quotes for custom paint and was wondering if anyone has ever used glow-in-the-dark paints or pigments. From what I've read the more used the better the glow but would like some input from any members who may have used this before.

So, basically, I'm looking to either candy or metallic a base, hand-paint glow designs, then clear over. Possibly even paint on the helmet as well.

·
Registered
84 VT500C retro bobber
1,437 Posts
I've been painting cars for more than 15 years and no one has ever requested glow in the dark paint before. I wasnt even aware that there was glow in the dark pigments available for automotive finishes. Im interested in seeing what you find out. Whos making this pigment?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I've been painting cars for more than 15 years and no one has ever requested glow in the dark paint before. I wasnt even aware that there was glow in the dark pigments available for automotive finishes. Im interested in seeing what you find out. Whos making this pigment?
Paint With Pearl
It's made to mix with clear binders.

I was also looking at using an acrylic glow in the dark and hand paint over. I am planning on just stenciling some designs on.There's no way to really coat that though because anything over top will want to lift. I don't know. It may all be a pipe dream.

I intended on painting the fenders and tank a really dark blue. Using the pigment from above, stenciling Norse designs in a lighter blue that will glow at night. I believe, and you can confirm this or not, that this route would allow for a clear to be shot over top?

·
Registered
1995 VT1100C2
3,448 Posts
This is very interesting. It would be great if you could post some before/after pics and describe the process and effect once completed.

·
Registered
1983 Honda vt750 Shadow
13,789 Posts