Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,270 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Hondas so I don't even know if this is an issue. Engine quits running in hot weather. No mechanical or ignition problems. Fuel in the tank. Pump works, lines and carbs clean.

You stop, engine cools, starts and runs fine.

Some bikes (in this heat) develop vapor lock--fuel vaporizes from heat before it gets where it has to be.

No, I don't have a solution, other than a cool water spray on fuel lines and carbs. If you run into this, at least you have the peace of mind knowing what it can be.

-john (Lakota)

Reactions: WI_Hedgehog

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
Vapor lock is rare indeed on these bikes. They're liquid cooled, so a lot of the heat gets dissipated elsewhere before it builds up between the cylinders and cooks the carb. They also have rubber fuel lines, and the filter and pump are below the seat, so they're under the heat source. I can't say I've ever heard of vapor lock on a Shadow. (Of course, there's a first for everything!)

How does the engine quit on the heat? Does it slowly lose power and then konk out or is it like someone flipped a switch and it just stops?

Next time it quits on you, pull a spark plug and verify that you have spark. I'd be more willing to bet that you have an electrical component that fails in the heat.

--Justin

·
Registered
1,385 Posts
I feel your frustration.

I’m still having that issue on my 1985 1100 and this only happens when it is extremely hot out. I thought I was out of the woods as I have been riding it the last week, around town after work with no issues; however, last night in the blazing heat I got 17 miles and it stopped. I was starting from a stop, gave it gas, got the chug, chug, spit, cough, I’m done, and then dies. When you try to start it back up at that point it acts like it will, but it won’t.