Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a 2005 VLX 600 for the wife. The bike has 18k. I rode it around the first day, parked it over night. This morning I notice a small oil leak. Is this a common problem? This is my second VLX, my first one had the same oil leak. I don't know where its coming from but its dripping from the bottom of the engine block. Please help.

-Jerry

·
Registered
588 Posts
Just bought a 2005 VLX 600 for the wife. The bike has 18k. I rode it around the first day, parked it over night. This morning I notice a small oil leak. Is this a common problem? This is my second VLX, my first one had the same oil leak. I don't know where its coming from but its dripping from the bottom of the engine block. Please help.

-Jerry
I'm not the one to help you with where its leaking from (i have zero mechanical knowledge) but I've had like 25 shadows and only one leaked a drop of oil (was a Vlx with 45k miles). In my experience Hondas aren't known to commonly leak oil. Now EVERY American bike I've had has leaked oil.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Premium Member
11,278 Posts
I sounds like the oil plug may not be tight enough or that the threads may have gotten iffy. My 2006 has never leaked a drop and if the weather will cooperate I'll see 65,000 (all mine) on the odo before the end of the year. You're the first vlx owner I've heard tell of an oil leak.
You might try finding the source more earnestly and you could also order a new drain plug, they're cheap.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I sounds like the oil plug may not be tight enough or that the threads may have gotten iffy. My 2006 has never leaked a drop and if the weather will cooperate I'll see 65,000 (all mine) on the odo before the end of the year. You're the first vlx owner I've heard tell of an oil leak.
You might try finding the source more earnestly and you could also order a new drain plug, they're cheap.