Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So technically I am still a newbie with my VLX. I have only had it 3 weeks but I did two important mods today.

1. Fixed the tank rattle - I First removed the tank (steps can be found by searching for remove vlx tank). I then added to washers behind the rubber gromets that hold the tank in place. Actually I didn't have any wahsers, so I monster garaged some out of metal brackets, but it worked. I then added fabric with an adhesive side on the frame where the tank sits. Put the tank back on, bye-bye rattle.

2. Joined the Holey Order - I purchased a 1 3/4 bi-metal hole saw (I needed a 1/2 drill, but just happened to have one laying around). I removed the center bit because it seemed like it would just get in the way. I then drilled out around the resonator for the top pipe (two metal plates) and then pulled the resonator out. To get to the bottom pipe, I had to loosen the pipes at the engine so I could get the hole saw in position.

Specifics - No more annoying metal on metal tank rattle. It seems like it is much more secure. The pipes are SO MUCH louder. There were four of us wrenching our bikes in the same garage and everyone agreed the sound was beautiful.

I did not have to rejet or even adjust my fuel mixture. All is well and good, running smooth. It seems to bog down at the low end of 2nd now, but I think I just need to shift later.

Oh yeah, I also needed to shim up my passenger foot peg so I pulled the cotter pin, added a piece of gasket material (cut to shape) and put it all back together. Worked like a charm.

If anyone has any questions - please let me know!!!!

· Registered
152 Posts
fixed tank rattle a couple of weeks back.

for the holesaw mod:

lucky you didnt have to rejet!

I put a couple of 5/16 holes in the far back of my baffles and the 2004 vlx would barely pull it self out of the driveway!

whats your altitude out of curiosity?