Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys i got my new rocker box in and the Tach fixed. I need to adjust the valves and don't know the proper clearance/exactly where to put the feeler guage. I have the manual but i've never done a valve adjustment before and was hoping for some help.

Also i have NO pressure in my front brake. The shop let air into the system. I've tried bleeding it but no success. Any suggestions?

Thanks

·
Registered
197 Posts
hey me again---how did you try bleedin them?-----the typical way is to squeeze the lever all the way and hold it, crack open the bleeder, let fluid run out, close bleeder, let go of lever--------then squeeze the lever multiple times and hold down again repeat until you have brake pressure

If this doesnt work you could back bleed them-------open your master cyl cover, get a small oil pump can, hook a hose from it to your bleed screw, fill can with brake fluid, pump all air out of hose before hooking to bleeder, open bleeder and start pumping fluid----get a small syringe and suck fluid out of master cyl as you go so you dont overflow. just keep going until your sure the air bubble has worked its way to the top---close bleeder and check brakes-----DANG SHOPS will mess u up every time--Good Luck

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i tried it the first way you stated with no luck what so ever

·
Registered
3,476 Posts
Did you end up having to pull the engine?

Adjustment is as per your books, pull the small covers off the side case cover, and two covers off your valve cover and follow the books directions.

After you adjust to spec and tighten the lock nut on the adjuster double check the lash as it will likely change a little when you tighten the lock nut.

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
no i didn't have to pull the engine. all i had to do was move the spark coils out of the way.

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·