Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1989 Honda Shadow VT600C
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! So today i took my 600 to work and as i was on the freeway going maybe about 65-70 mph, i went to speed up to switch lanes and the bike just did nothing. I let off the throttle and reapplied it and it kicked in and went. A couple miles down the road it did it again. I haven't done any mods that would make me have to rejet or tune my carbs, but the guy i bought it from wasnt running a fuel filter and i still haven't installed the one i bought. i don't know if that has anything to do with it. The guy said he just got done rejetting and tuning the carb before i picked it up, don't know how true that is but... On the street no hesitation at all and is completely fine. Any suggestions as to what to check? im a rookie and new to this mechanic side of bikes so if you can please dumb things down a bit haha Thank you!

·
Registered
2002 Shadow VLX
125 Posts
Hey everyone! So today i took my 600 to work and as i was on the freeway going maybe about 65-70 mph, i went to speed up to switch lanes and the bike just did nothing. I let off the throttle and reapplied it and it kicked in and went. A couple miles down the road it did it again. I haven't done any mods that would make me have to rejet or tune my carbs, but the guy i bought it from wasnt running a fuel filter and i still haven't installed the one i bought. i don't know if that has anything to do with it. The guy said he just got done rejetting and tuning the carb before i picked it up, don't know how true that is but... On the street no hesitation at all and is completely fine. Any suggestions as to what to check? im a rookie and new to this mechanic side of bikes so if you can please dumb things down a bit haha Thank you!
Did you check your fuel cap? 600 has tank vent in the cap and what you are explaining fits a vent blockage restricting enough fuel flow for higher speed.

·
Registered