Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
It has been about 10 years since I have had my bike jacket out of the closet, and apparently there was quite a bit of "Closet Shrinkage"

So, I am off to a bike show this weekend to look for a new Jacket.
Since it has been about 15 years since I have bought one.
I was hoping some of you let me know what to look out for?

If my memory searves me correctly, bike jackets are stiched together with Nylon thread, instead of cotton, to prevent splitting during a slid....Did I remember correctly?

Should I buy a jacket with a Lower Back support?
Should the jacket have vents?
How tight should it fit?
What about zip out liners? Good or bad?

Any other tips or pointers would be helpful.

Thanks
O

· Registered
303 Posts
Here's my 2 cents...I'm no expert, but I love my leather jacket.

Vents - yes! They do help. I'm a big fan.

Liner (zip out)- yes if you plan to wear it 3-seasons (and live somewhere that actually has seasons). I love this feature. Even with the liner in, I can open the vents and get partial cooling if the temperature suddenly warms.

Fit - for me the most important part (other than general fit) was the SLEEVES. Too short and the wind will be coming up your arms. You want to be able to stick your arms straight out in front of you and still have the cuff covering your watch. Also, the NECK is important. I like a snug fit around the neck (as opposed to an open v-collar or something like that) to keep the jacket from flapping. I sometimes ride without a shield, so it's extra important that it fit well if you ride that way.

Safety - Heavy, thick leather is totally worth it. Don't feel at all guilty about spending money on a quality jacket. Also, lots of places are even adding reflective strips on the back. I couldn't find one of those that fit me, but it doesn't seem to take much away from the look (IMO) and adds a LOT of visibility at night.