Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I just started riding in March of 2020 mainly as an alternative to public transportation due to coronavirus. I bought a 150cc Chinese scooter to go from Brooklyn to NJ and I was hooked. Of course needing more speed and power I purchased a Kymco xciting 500i maxi scooter and loved the clutchless 2 wheeling life but did not quite feel like a biker, especially when no one would give me a wave, 馃槀. So I started to search for a "real bike" in September and happened to find my beautiful candy apple red 1986 Honda vt700 shadow and I can't stop riding . It's now January and I refuse to let the wind chill factor, rain, nighttime, below 30 degree weather of NYC keep me and Canday from consummating our relationship with the highways! I got the right gear, the right attitude and I think I'm cray cray crazay and so does everyone else who knows of my 50plus mile a day commute! BTW I'm 59 years old and will be 60 this summer. I think that since I'm a late bloomer to biking I'm making up for lost time in a big way ...and I don't see myself changing my mind and my bike agrees. Thanks for letting me share...hope to see you on the roads 馃洠.
20201214_074253_2(1).jpg

Registered
If the roads are dry, with the right gear winter riding is doable.

I`ve ridden in the 30`s many, many times.

Sunshine and lack of wind help immensely.

My fingers bother me because of previous frostbite not related to riding.

Shadows are inherently cold blooded. Sometimes they are hard to start below 32degrees, even with a good battery.

Good Luck, Ride Safe, Nice looking bike.

Premium Member
1999 Shadow 750 ACE VT750CD3 Modified
I don't winter ride even when it is dry and sunny because I don't like what salt does to nice bikes.
BITD I used to ride in full snowmobile attire complete with mitts and boots.