1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2005 honda shadow spirit 750
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
My name is Flavio Costa 23 y/old.
2 days ago I bought my very first motorcycle. It’s a 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 750. 21k miles. I work in construction and travel a lot. I was on my way back to Dallas from a job site in Alabama when I spotted a local dealership. It caught my interest so I pulled over. Two hours later I had it loaded on my trailer with a smile on my face and a hit to the bank!

Due to my schedule, my impulsivity, the honest face of the 80 year old man who sold it me, I did not get it checked or a test ride. It was beautiful and. It started with no problem; that was enough for me.

I’ve had it in my garage since. I started it couple of times to hear the roar. It was awesome. Yesterday night I decided to hear it one more time before bed, couldn’t get it to start.

I am completely green when it comes to mechanics and motorcyles. Would any of you be willing to have a fectime call to go over the basics? I’d like to speak to a seasoned rider before I get a mechanic to look at it.

·
Registered
1983 Honda vt750 Shadow
17,888 Posts
The small batteries are a weak spot with bikes. Starting it and running a little won't charge it enough.
When ever in doubt about the battery power, jump it with a non-running car battery or strong jumper box, and if it fires up quickly that is the place to start.
A new battery.
A battery maintainer is a small maintenance charger that helps a battery but doesn't charge more than 1 or 2 amps.
Some of the guys with the same bike can help in more detail.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Have you ever ridden a motorcycle before? If not, I'd recommend taking a motorcycle safety basic rider course before you go out and drop your bike on your first ride or potentially get hurt. Motorcycle Safety Foundation Home Page. Plus, your state (mine does) may require a motorcycle endorsement to ride legally.